Skip to content

Connecting Stories to Life

June 3, 2011

Over the last few weeks I have noticed that while reading her stories I ask PlumGirl questions about things she knows or has experienced. I don’t do this consciously, and I also don’t know if I do it enough.

A post over at Teach Mama called Learning During Read-Alouds: Activating Schema, explains just how important connecting stories to children’s prior knowledge is. As Teach Mama explains, activating schema can be as simple as asking questions before reading or as complex as discussing objects and pictures related to the text.

This is such an important idea that I really need to make an effort to more frequently connect books to PlumGirl’s life.  In preparation for our upcoming trip to the beach, I bought a bunch of beach-themed used picture books.  I am hoping that reading these books in advance with make her more familiar with what to expect when we get to the beach and that when we come home she will enjoy reading these books even more.

I am also inspired to make “Book Bags” containing not just a book or two, but also objects and pictures that can be discussed before reading the book to help PlumGirl make connections and really experience the books.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

