Skip to content

Animal Line Up

July 8, 2011

This was a completely spur of the moment activity.  I was looking at PlumGirl’s basket of animals and it just popped into my head.

To start, I grabbed one of the strings from PlumGirl’s lacing activity and laid it straight on the ground.  I set an animal at the start (the left end) and told that this animal was first.  I then lined up animals all along the string using words like first, next, behind, last, and the ordinal numbers.  When the string was full I counted and named all the animals.  Finally, I put them all in the basket.

PlumGirl watched me the entire time, but did not make a move to join in.  So, I started lining animals up again, this time asking her to choose between two animals so that she determined which were next.

Soon enough, she joined in.

The third time around PlumGirl was in charge.  At one point she got distracted and was making the animals dance on the side of the basket.  I patiently waited (which is so hard for me!) and soon enough she was back at lining the animals up.   She also directed me into lining up one of the dinosaurs.

Photobucket

The entire time we were playing I narrated as much as possible.  I am not by nature a talkative person, but I am trying to encourage PlumGirl’s language development as much as possible.

Photobucket

This was by far one of the most successful activities I have done with PlumGirl, especially for one that was not at all preplanned.

Photobucket

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2011 11:24 pm

    Awesome! I’ve worked with Ty a bit on lining animals lately as well (on his balance beam and ramps board) and today I came out from another room to see that he had lined them himself on the floor. I understand those proud moments! Don’t you just love those jumbo safari animals?! I want to buy more! Are any of the other animals pictured from Learning Resources sets?

  2. July 21, 2011 3:34 pm

    Thanks for sharing how this actually played out (you doing it all the first time, you asking her to choose, etc.) I sometimes get really anxious to have Della try something new and probably freak her out a little, but involving her like this seems really effective. I also have to push myself to narrate things because I like when things are peaceful and quiet!

Leave a Reply

