Skip to content

Modeling Writing

July 29, 2011

A few weeks ago I realized that PlumGirl rarely saw me writing.   Almost all of the writing I was doing, even my shopping lists, I was doing digitally.  Once I made this realization, I knew that things had to change.

Writing is an essential skill that PlumGirl will be learning in the next few years and, just as with reading, seeing writing in action is a very important part of the learning process.

So, I have been consciously deciding to write with a pen and paper where I might otherwise have used the computer or smart phone.

I have been writing shopping lists, packing lists, and recipes.  I have been reading and taking notes in a notebook.  I have even started a daily journal of happy moments I would like to remember, which I have actually been good about writing in almost every day.

As a result, PlumGirl is writing too.

Photobucket

Whenever I am writing in one of my notebooks, she goes to get her own.

Photobucket

I am relieved to have made this realization and a commitment to model writing in our daily life.  It feels wonderful to know that such a simple decision will have such a large impact on the lives of my children.

Photobucket

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 7, 2011 4:48 pm

    You’ll have to keep her first ‘writings’. It’s fascinating to watch how it changes:)

Leave a Reply

